• Share this:

On August 8, 1967, in the vibrant city of Bangkok, Thailand, a historic moment unfolded. Five visionary nations – Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand – united in the spirit of progress, signing the Bangkok Declaration to establish ASEAN.From that monumental day, these founding countries paved the way for an enduring alliance.

Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, and the Philippines stood together as pioneers. Joining their ranks in pursuit of peace, prosperity, and unity were Brunei Darussalam (January 8, 1984), Viet Nam (July 28, 1995), Laos (July 23, 1997), Myanmar (July 23, 1997), and Cambodia (April 30, 1999).

In the midst of 1960s challenges – geopolitical rivalries, regional conflicts – ASEAN's visionary leaders aimed for a secure and prosperous Southeast Asia. Their determination echoed through time, fostering a region of harmony and development.

Rafa Sukoco

An Indonesian born into a multiethnic family. Loves traveling, culinary, and learning about history and religion. Listening and channeling stories is my way of enjoying life.
View all posts