Thailand Welcomes Longer Visits: Simplified Visa for 93 Countries, Up to 60-Day Visit

Thailand Welcomes Longer Visits: Simplified Visa for 93 Countries, Up to 60-Day Visit

In an effort to boost tourism and attract more visitors, students and remote workers, Thailand has announced an expansion of its visa policy. Starting June 1, 2024, tourists from 93 countries will be able to stay for 60 days without a visa, up from the current 30 days. This is expected to encourage visitors to stay longer and explore more places in Thailand.

Read the previous story here: Calling All Tourists, Students, and 'Digital Nomads': Thailand's Extended Visa Stays for Your Perfect Getaway!

Want to learn more about Thailand's new visa policy? This article covers key aspects, including the list of countries eligible for visa exemptions, visa-on-arrival regulations, and rules for extending your stay in Thailand.

List of 93 Countries Now Eligible for 60-Day Stays in Thailand

A. 57 Countries Now Eligible for 60-Day Visa On Arrival:

  • Asia: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Maldives, South Korea, Turkey, Brunei, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Japan
  • Africa: Mauritius, South Africa
  • Oceania: New Zealand, Australia
  • Europe: Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Republic of Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Andorra, Austria, Belgium
  • America: Canada, Peru, United States, Brazil
  • Middle East: United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Israel, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar


B. 13 Countries Granted Visa on Arrival for 60 days, up from 30 Days:

  • Asia: India, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Taiwan, Bhutan, Cyprus
  • Oceania: Papua New Guinea, Fiji
  • Europe: Malta, Romania, Bulgaria, Georgia
  • America: Mexico


C. 17 New Countries Granted Visa on Arrival for 60 Days:

  • Asia: Jordan, Sri Lanka
  • Africa: Morocco
  • Oceania: Tonga
  • Europe: Kosovo, Albania, Croatia
  • America: Guatemala, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Panama, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Dominica, Ecuador


D. 6 New Countries Granted 60-Day Visa Waiver:

  • Asia: China, Laos, Macau, Mongolia, Cambodia
  • Europe: Russia


Visa On Arrival Regulations


  • Passport valid for at least six months.
  • Confirmed round-trip ticket.
  • Sufficient funds for the stay in Thailand (Minimum of 15,000 Thai Baht ($418) if traveling alone, or 20,000 Thai Baht ($557) if traveling with family).
  • Depending on the nationality and circumstances of the traveler, additional documents may be required.


Application Process:

  1. Prepare visa application form and passport photo.
  2. Pay visa fee of 2,000 Thai Baht.
  3. Submit documents at immigration checkpoint at designated international airports or land border crossings in Thailand.


What if You Want to Stay Longer?

Before your visa expires:

  1. Visit the nearest immigration office.
  2. Prepare passport, filled visa application form, and proof of payment for extension fee.


Keep in Mind:

  • Visa extensions are usually granted in multiples of 30 days.
  • Overstaying the visa could result in fines, deportation, or even imprisonment.
  • Daily fine for visa violation is 500 Thai Baht, with a maximum of 20,000 Thai Baht.



  • Prepare complete documents and apply for a visa extension before your visa expires.
  • Consult with immigration officers if you have questions or doubts. Observe the allowed visa extension deadlines.

Terima kasih telah membaca sampai di sini